Publications

These publications are part of a three-year project titled, “Action on Systemic Barriers to Women’s Participation in Local Government”, funded by Status of Women Canada. The collaboration between the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women and Women Transforming Cities involves working within the cities of Vancouver, BC and Surrey, BC to develop effective and sustainable approaches to gender-based inclusion and equity within local governance policies and structures.


 

Cities as Employers: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

Cities as Employers is part of a 4-part series of 2-pagers summarizing the main issues that arrose during the Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government project. This 2-pager explores: What is the current lanscape of the employees working for the cities of Vancouver and Surrey? How can cities, such as Vancouver and Surrey, ensure that they hire and support women workers in all their diversity? What recommendations have diverse women put forward to this end?

 

 

 

 

Public Engagement: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

Public Engagement is part of a 4-part series of 2-pagers summarizing the main issues that arrose during the Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government project. This 2-pager explores: How do the cities of Vancouver and Surrey currently engage with and learn about citizens' needs? Which women are missing from these conversations? How can cities improve these efforts to include and meaningfully engage with women in all their diversity?

 

 

 

 

Women in Local Government: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

Women in Local Government is part of a 4-part series of 2-pagers summarizing the main issues that arrose during the Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government project. Research found that City Councils in Vancouver and Surrey do not represent the cities' respective populations; there is a lack of representation of diverse women and people as elected officials. This 2-pager offers an in-depth look at this issue and offers recommendations to cities and citizens on how to get involved and gain adequate representation.

 

 

 

Women on City Advisory Groups: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

Women on City Advisory Groups is part of a 4-part series of 2-pagers summarizing the main issues that arrose during the Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government project. Citizen-led advisory groups are avenues where women can contribute to making the decisions that affect their daily lives. It is important that women's voices are heard in all city advisory groups, however that is not currently the case in Vancouver and Surrey. This 2-pager looks at the current obstacles that are hindering diverse women's meaningful participation in these groups and        what cities and citizens can do to ensure that more women can contribute.

 

 

Funding for Women's Organizations policy briefing note

 

Pathways to a Women-friendly Surrey: Outcome Report (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

This outcome report presents the expertise of women participating in a forum held in Surrey, BC. The forum set out to find out why and how women become involved in the city, what helps and supports a woman candidate and what barriers or challenges she faces.

 

 

 

 

 

The title page of the report features a young women with a ponytail looking down while writing.

 

Hot Pink Pathways to a Women-Friendly Vancouver: Outcome Report (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

This outcome report presents the expertise of women participating in a forum held in Vancouver, BC. The forum set out to find out why and how women become involved in the city, what helps and supports a woman candidate and what barriers or challenges she faces.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Literature Review for Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government

 

Literature Review for “Action on Systemic Barriers to Women’s Participation in Local Government” (2017)

Willow Samara Allen, Ph.D.

This literature review gives an overview of the identified barriers to women’s involvement in local governance in Surrey, BC and Vancouver, BC, and the strategies to overcome those barriers.  

 

 

 

 

Early Childhood Education and Care Workforce policy briefing note

 

Barriers Facing Women in Politics (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

This briefing note was submitted to House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women in July 2018. It presents the many barriers that explain women's significant underrepresentation at all levels of government, as well as recommendations on how to alleviate these barriers.

 

 

 

 

Dark Blue Cover Page of Report with white text

 

Voter Engagement, Electoral Systems, and Diverse Women’s Political Representation: A Brief Review (2019)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

Using the 2018 Vancouver, BC elections as a case study, this brief review looks at representation on citcouncil and who votes in municipal elections.

 

 

 

 

 

First page of the slideshow presentation with the workshop title and partner logos. There is a green pattern on both sides.(Taking) Action on Systemic Barriers in Women's Participation in Local Government (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

This presentation delivered at the Women Shaping Surrey summit explains the importance of women's issues in municipal policy and gives examples of women's organizations promoting political advocacy and involvement.

 

 

 

 

Title slide for the Taking Action on Systemic Barriers Surrey Presentation

(Taking) Action on Systemic Barriers in Women's Participation in Local Government (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF and WTC

This presentation delivered at the Women Shaping Surrey summit looks into barriers diverse women face in getting involved in municipal politics and advisory committees.

Publications

Ces publications font partie d'un projet de trois ans intitulé « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local », financé par Condition féminine Canada. La collaboration entre l'Institut canadien de recherche sur les femmes et Women Transforming Cities consiste à travailler dans les villes de Vancouver (C.-B.) et de Surrey (C.-B.) pour élaborer des approches efficaces et durables en matière d'inclusion et d'équité entre les sexes dans les politiques et structures de gouvernance locale.

 

 

Feuillets d'info


Cities as Employers: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Cities as Employers fait partie d'une série de 4 de feuillets résumant les principales questions qui s'étaient posées au cours du projet « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local ». Ce document de 2 pages explore : Quel est le paysage actuel des employées et employés travaillant pour les villes de Vancouver et de Surrey ? Comment les villes, telles que Vancouver et Surrey, peuvent-elles s'assurer qu'elles embauchent et soutiennent les femmes travailleuses dans toute leur diversité ? Quelles recommandations ont été formulées par diverses femmes à cette fin ?

 

Public Engagement: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Public Engagement fait partie d'une série de 4 feuillets résumant les principales questions qui s'étaient posées au cours du projet « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local ». Ce document de 2 pages explore : Comment les villes de Vancouver et de Surrey s'engagent actuellement et s'informent des besoins des citoyennes et des citoyens ? Quelles femmes sont exclues de ces conversations ? Comment les villes peuvent-elles améliorer ces efforts pour inclure les femmes dans toute leur diversité et s'engager de manière significative avec elles ?

 

Women in Local Government: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Women in Local Government fait partie d'une série de 4 feuillets résumant les principales questions qui s'étaient posées au cours du projet « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local ». Les recherches ont montré que les conseils municipaux de Vancouver et de Surrey ne représentent pas les populations respectives de ces villes ; il y a un manque de représentation des diverses femmes et personnes fesant parties de ces villes en tant que membres élu.e.s. Ce document de 2 pages offre un regard approfondi sur cette question et propose des recommandations aux villes et aux citoyennes et aux citoyens sur la manière de s'impliquer et d'obtenir une représentation adéquate.

 

Women on City Advisory Groups: Vancouver and Surrey (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Women on City Advisory Groups fait partie d'une série de 4 feuillets résumant les principales questions qui s'étaient posées au cours du projet « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local ». Les groupes consultatifs dirigés par des citoyennes et citoyens sont des avenues où les femmes peuvent contribuer au processus de prise de décisions qui affecte leur vie quotidienne. Il est important que la voix des femmes soit entendue dans tous les groupes consultatifs de la ville, mais ce n'est pas le cas actuellement à Vancouver et à Surrey. Ce document de deux pages examine les obstacles actuels qui entravent la participation significative de diverses femmes à ces groupes et ce que les villes et les citoyennes et citoyens peuvent faire pour que davantage de femmes puissent apporter leur contribution.

 

 

Rapports


Final Report: Action on systemic barriers to women's participation in local government (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Le rapport final offre un aperçu de ce projet de trois ans, qui s'est concentré sur quatre domaines dans lesquels les femmes participent à la vie civique locale : en tant que candidates et élues, en tant que participantes aux organes consultatifs municipaux dirigés par les citoyennes et citoyens, en tant qu'employées municipales et en tant que participantes aux efforts d'engagement public dirigés par les villes. Le personnel du projet a mené des recherches quantitatives et qualitatives pour chacun de ces domaines afin d'établir une base de données sur les obstacles rencontrés par les femmes, les opportunités qu'elles ont eues et leurs recommandations de changement et d'action pour chacun de ces domaines. L'accent a été mis en particulier sur ce que les villes, en tant qu'institutions, peuvent faire pour créer davantage d'opportunités pour les femmes de divers milieux afin qu'elles participent pleinement à ces forums civiques.

 

Dark Blue Cover Page of Report with white text

 

Voter Engagement, Electoral Systems, and Diverse Women’s Political Representation: A Brief Review (2019)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

En utilisant les élections de 2018 à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, comme étude de cas, ce bref examen porte sur la représentation au conseil municipal et sur les personnes qui votent aux élections municipales.

 

 

Funding for Women's Organizations policy briefing note

 

Pathways to a Women-friendly Surrey: Rapport sur les résultats (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Ce rapport sur les résultats présente l'expertise des femmes participant à un forum qui s'est tenu à Surrey, en Colombie-Britannique. Le forum avait pour but de découvrir pourquoi et comment les femmes s'impliquent dans la ville, ce qui aide et soutient une candidate et quels sont les obstacles ou les défis auxquels elle est confrontée.

 

 

The title page of the report features a young women with a ponytail looking down while writing.

 

Hot Pink Pathways to a Women-Friendly Vancouver: Rapport sur les résultats (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC
 
(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Ce rapport sur les résultats présente l'expertise des femmes participant à un forum qui s'est tenu à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Ce forum avait pour but de découvrir pourquoi et comment les femmes s'impliquent dans la ville, ce qui aide et soutient une candidate et quels sont les obstacles ou les défis auxquels elle est confrontée.

 

Early Childhood Education and Care Workforce policy briefing note

 

Barriers Facing Women in Politics (2018)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Cette note d'information a été soumise au Comité permanent de la condition féminine de la Chambre des communes en juillet 2018. Elle présente les nombreux obstacles qui expliquent la sous-représentation importante des femmes à tous les niveaux de gouvernement, ainsi que des recommandations sur la manière d'atténuer ces obstacles.

 

 

Literature Review for Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government

 

Revue littéraire pour « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local » (2017)

Willow Samara Allen, Ph.D.

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Cette revue de la littérature donne un aperçu des obstacles identifiés à l'implication des femmes dans la gouvernance locale à Surrey (C.-B.) et à Vancouver (C.-B.), ainsi que des stratégies pour surmonter ces obstacles.

 

 

 

Présentations


First page of the slideshow presentation with the workshop title and partner logos. There is a green pattern on both sides.(Taking) Action on Systemic Barriers in Women's Participation in Local Government (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Cette présentation faite lors du sommet Women Shaping Surrey explique l'importance des questions relatives aux femmes dans la politique municipale et donne des exemples d'organisations de femmes qui encouragent la défense et la participation politiques.

 

Title slide for the Taking Action on Systemic Barriers Surrey Presentation

(Taking) Action on Systemic Barriers in Women's Participation in Local Government (2020)

CRIAW-ICREF et WTC

(Disponible en anglais seulement)

Cette présentation faite lors du sommet Women Shaping Surrey examine les obstacles que rencontrent diverses femmes pour s'impliquer dans la politique municipale et les comités consultatifs.