Action on Barriers

Action on Systemic Barriers to Women's Participation in Local Government is a three year collaboration between CRIAW and Women Transforming Cities. It is a Status of Women Canada funded project.

The goals of the project are two-fold:

To work with municipalities and citizens to identify and institute on-going and permanent solutions to address barriers to the participation of diverse women in local government as elected decision-makers, as staff, and as committee members; and

To enhance the understanding and awareness of the importance of using a “gender-based intersectional lens” to guide policies and actions, and to increase the use of such a lens throughout municipal departments and functions.

The project is focused on two municipalities in British Columbia, Canada.

What do we mean by a “gender-based intersectional lens”?

Developing policies and practices with a gender-based intersectional lens means identifying the different impacts policies and programs (or lack thereof) will have on different groups, recognizing that even within those groups not everyone’s experience will be the same. By using a gender-based intersectional lens, we will be better positioned to identify and explore the various barriers that impede women’s participation in local government, and to recommend concrete action to remove these systemic barriers for all women.

How will we accomplish these goals?

Our objectives are in keeping with international goals that aim to increase the involvement of women in leadership and decision-making at all levels of government. We will focus our activities locally on assisting two municipalities, Vancouver and Surrey, in determining what needs to be done in each community in order to achieve greater representation of diverse women within their municipal structures, policies, and practices. 

READ the literature review

Action on Barriers

Le projet « Action contre les obstacles systémiques de la participation des femmes au gouvernement local » est une collaboration de trois ans entre l’ICREF et Women Transforming Cities et est financé par Condition féminine Canada.

Deux objectifs sont visés pour ce projet :

Collaborer avec les municipalités et les citoyennes pour repérer les solutions en cours et déterminer des solutions permanentes, pour ensuite les mettre en place afin de supprimer les obstacles à la participation de femmes diverses au gouvernement local en tant que décideuses, membres du personnel et membres de comités ; et

Approfondir la compréhension et la sensibilisation de l’importance d’utiliser une « approche intersectionnelle axée sur le genre » pour orienter les politiques et les actions et d’encourager l’utilisation d’une telle approche dans tous les départements et fonctions d’une municipalité.

Le projet cible deux municipalités de la Colombie-Britannique, au Canada.

 

Qu’entendons-nous par une « approche intersectionnelle axée sur le genre » ?

Développer des politiques et des pratiques avec une approche intersectionnelle axée sur le genre englobe le fait de déterminer les différents impacts que les politiques et les programmes (ou leur absence) auront sur différents groupes, tout en reconnaissant que l’expérience de tout le monde ne sera pas pareille, même parmi un groupe commun. Lorsque nous utilisons une approche intersectionnelle axée sur le genre, nous pouvons mieux découvrir et examiner les divers obstacles qui freinent la participation des femmes au gouvernement local, ainsi que recommander des mesures concrètes dans le but d’éliminer ces obstacles systémiques pour toutes les femmes.

 

Comment allons-nous atteindre ces objectifs ?

Nos objectifs sont conformes aux objectifs internationaux qui visent à hausser la participation des femmes au sein de la direction et des prises de décisions à tous les niveaux de gouvernement. Nous concentrerons nos activités sur deux municipalités locales (Vancouver et Surrey) afin de déterminer les actions nécessaires dans chaque communauté pour obtenir une meilleure représentation de femmes diverses au sein de leurs structures, politiques et pratiques municipales.

Lisez la revue de littérature ICI (seulement disponible en anglais)